Mercy Watson Series - A Porcine Wonder

Recently, my son and I read five of the six books (we are hoping to read "Mercy Watson: Princess in Disguise " soon) in the Mercy Watson Series. The author of this series is Kate DiCamillo. She is a very talented and versatile author who wrote books such as "The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup and a Spool of Thread " and "Because of Winn-Dixie ".

My son and I absolutely loved the Mercy Watson Series. We are both in complete love with Mercy, and we are certain that if you would also be in love with Mercy if you read one of her adventures too.  I sincerely hope that the author will consider to add more books to this series in the future. The stories are all hilarious. The books are organized in chapters with plenty of colourful and engaging illustrations.

From Mercy Watson to the Rescue by Kate DiCamillo

The stories of this series are set on Deckawoo Drive where Mr. and Mrs. Watson live. They are the loving, albeit misguided owners of Mercy, their adorable pet pig. Since they don't have children, Mr. and Mrs. Watson lavish great attention and care on Mercy as if she were human; after all, she is a "porcine wonder"! 

Other important characters in the books are the two Lincoln sisters, Eugenia and Baby, as well as the various emergency personnel who are usually involved in rescuing Mercy from her adventures. This includes Police Officer Tomilello and two clumsy Firemen, Ned and Lorenzo. Each character plays a different role in each story’s plot, but are all consistently maladroit, naive and extremely funny. 

Mr. and Mrs. Watson like to believe that Mercy is a porcine wonder, but, it's this true?  Of course, she is not a porcine wonder...she is just a pig! Mercy doesn't talk...all that Mercy can say is "oink"! She is just a simple creature, a pet, who only thinks about having fun and eating "hot buttered toasts". 

My son and I have enjoyed and laughed a lot with each one of Mercy Watson Adventures's adventures. The stories evoke innocence, but also keep the reader entertained. All the books end with Mercy and all the human characters sitting down to eat "hot buttered toasts" prepared by Mrs. Watson. 

I very highly recommend this book series for young readers, but also for parents who read books to young children.

    No comments:

    Featured Post

    Antlers for Dogs and Puppies